What’s Your Love Language?

On New Year’s Eve, my husband and I mutually agreed to take the 5 Love Language Online Test For Couples to determine what our primary love language is. This is in response to a challenge posted by Dr. Gary Chapman in the current devotional book that I am reading now called, “The One Year Love Language Minute Devotional” by Gary Chapman.


How do you express your love to others? Do you like cooking for them? How about giving presents? Making a phone call? Giving a back massage?

Chapman’s book, “The One Year Love Language Minute Devotional” was gifted to me by the amazing people at OMF Literature, one of my favorite bookstores of all time when I visited them at their Boni Avenue Branch early in 2013.

So far, this book has been an amazing blessing for me because I realized a lot of things about myself as a wife. This book will surely change your heart and attitude for the good towards your spouse.

Here are the 5 Love Languages according to Dr. Gary Chapman:

What are the 5 Love Language?


  • Quality Time

In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there – with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby – makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Quality time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

  • Physical Touch

This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face – they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Physical touch fosters a sense of security and belonging in any relationship.

  • Receiving Gifts

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous – so would the absence of everyday gestures. Gifts are visual representations of love and are treasured greatly.

  • Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important – hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. Kind, encouraging, and positive words are truly life-giving.

  • Acts of Service

Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter. Finding ways to serve speaks volumes to the recipient of these acts.

Gary Chapman is an amazing writer, gentle, direct-to-the-point, but pierces through your bone and marrow. If you are still in search of a self-reflection, devotional book until now, I highly recommend you to go and have your own copy of “The One Year Love Language Minute Devotional” by Gary Chapman.

It is also wonderful to read The Five Love Language of Children so you’d discover what your children’s unique love language is. I read this when I was in college for a university paper and I won’t mind reading it again now that I’m a mom.


And of course, I have a wishlist that I wish to have and read before this year ends:


The 5 Love Languages, Military Edition

If you also wish to find out really quick what your primary love language is, please visit http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/, or send the link to your spouse or child so they, too could discover what their 5 love languages are. I guarantee that this short online test will contribute something to make your relationships better.

To purchase this book: The One Year Love Language Minute Devotional” by Gary Chapman and more life-changing resources, please visit or inquire with OMF Literature:


Leave a Reply